Book of the Week: Emma

Sorry the book of the week is a bit late this week. It has certainly been a doozy.

Oof, this one was a struggle to get through. I was excited to read it because I really enjoyed “Pride and Prejudice” and “Sense and Sensibility,” but this one just did not do it for me.

For whatever reason, I found this story to be a lot sloooower than the other two, and I wasn’t really attached to any of the characters. I know it’s a general consensus that Emma is not a likeable character – even Jane Austen said when she wrote it that she was probably the only one that would enjoy the character. But even the men… Mr. Knightley was alright, but he was NO Mr. Darcy… I don’t know, I just couldn’t get it into it. It seemed so long, and void of action. The basic plot of the book is that Emma is a spoiled, kind of vain girl who plays matchmaker in her head for all of her friends, but gets it horribly wrong several times over, and causes hurt feelings and all kinds of messes along the way. Everyone basically ends up happy in the end, but you’re definitely not rooting for her as the main character, which feels strange as a reader. Definitely not the heroine that Elizabeth Bennet undoubtedly is. It’s just kind of silly.

Either way, I’m still glad I read it. I really like Jane Austen, despite not loving this book.

Maybe I’ll strike gold this week!

 

P.S. Just noticed a strange pattern in my book titles so far… I read ELLA Enchanted, then EVE, and now EMMA. What is with these girls whose names start with “E”?? 😛

About Jenny

College student. Singer. Aspiring chef. Writer. Sister. Daughter. Friend.
This entry was posted in Book of the Week, Books and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Book of the Week: Emma

  1. Pingback: Book of the Week: Rude Awakenings of a Jane Austen Addict | Life in Jennyral

Leave a comment